The Man from Earth

the man from the earthI watched the man from earth movie yesterday. The movie was released in 2007. I have never watched the movie before and never heard of it. Imagine 9 years later, I’m watching it.

I’m watching the entire movie that was set in a tiny cozy room with a fireplace. The story was revolved around a leaving Professor whose farewell garnered attention from his neighboring friends. The story grabs your attention as the conversation moves forward. Added to the credibility of the ongoing conversation or story is the fact that his neighbors were all working professionals to support his claims. I don’t want to spoil the story here.

My rating of the movies would go somewhere around 8 to 9 out of 10.

One of the reasons I like about the movie is, first of all, I’m an atheist. I firmly believe in evolution. I’m the product of evolution. I feel, I sense, and I absorb information as I grow old. I can’t turn over what was given to me. I can’t change what I don’t want. I’m the product.

The only variables that we think we can change within our lifetime are so minimal yet we humans try to grasp on the idea of “Change”. But the evolutionary process takes millions of years to become what we are today.

Humans fight for whatever they can they can possess during their lifetime. Based on traditions, cultures, norms, religions, so on and so forth, we always try to accumulate material wealth and our very survival chance.

At the end of the day, it does not matter if I become Warren Buffet or Steve Jobs. As evolution goes, my DNA or similar version of human DNA will be preserved in those high achieving long lasting humans.

Leave a comment